fbpx
Phone

+41 22 959 75 00

Our schedules

Mon.-Thu. 8am-7pm, Fri. 8am-6pm, Sat. 8.30am-1pm

Adult Dental Anesthesia

Dental anesthesia

Dental pain can sometimes be severe and difficult for patients to manage. The fear of pain can sometimes be even stronger, and 54% of patients experience feelings ranging from simple apprehension to deep phobia. Today we have a complete arsenal (dental anaesthesia, conscious sedation), allowing us to act both in the prevention and treatment of pain and anxiety.

1. Drug treatments

A. Painkillers

For mild pain, simple painkillers such as paracetamol are usually sufficient. The effective dosage is 1000 mg every 6 hours, if there are no contraindications.

B. Anti-inflammatory drugs

For more severe pain, or if paracetamol is ineffective, the prescription of anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen or mefenamic acid often gives better results than paracetamol. It also helps to reduce post-operative side effects (oedema or trismus), although these depend to a large extent on the type and duration of the operation.

C. Anxiolytics

Stress and fatigue are aggravating factors for many patients. The goal is to obtain the physical and psychological comfort of the patient in order to facilitate the realization of the care.
The molecule of choice will be hydroxizine (ATARAX ©) or a benzodiazepine like Valium ©. The prescription of anxiolytics in anxious patients allows a better efficiency of painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs, as well as of the anaesthesia, which allows to reduce the postoperative effects.

The disadvantage of anxiolytics is the duration of their action. They require to be accompanied and it is strongly advised not to drive a vehicle on the day of the operation.

2. Local anaesthetics

To avoid feeling pain during an operation, the dentist injects a solution that stops all pain. If today many interventions can be done without anaesthesia thanks to the progress of the technique, some patients prefer to have a systematic anaesthesia for their comfort during the intervention. The techniques differ
depending on the tooth treated and the type of procedure, with variable side effects. In any case, these are rare and temporary (hematoma, numbness of the cheek and lip for a few hours).

The sensation of the injection is also minimized thanks to the use of specific equipment. In particular, we use a pre-anesthetic gel to massage the gums prior to the injection.

Dentist with local anesthesia

A local anaesthetic stops the excitability of sensitive nerve fibres, in a temporary and reversible way. It therefore allows the pain to be inhibited for a given time.

In the formula used, we find the local anesthetic: it is one of the molecules ending with the suffix "-caine" like lidocaine or ropivacaine, more modern.

In addition to the anaesthetic, there is adrenaline for its vaso-constrictor effect, which will reduce bleeding, increase the concentration of the product locally and prevent its spread to neighbouring areas, thus allowing a longer time of action.

Dental surgeons are trained to know exactly where to prick for each type of dental procedure, because it is a matter of more or less localized numbness, and of numbing this or that type of nerve.

Methods and support for a better experience of the intervention

Methods have been worked on to accompany the patient both in his anxiety about the injection but also in the pain it may cause:

  • Pre-anaesthesia or surface anaesthesia

It is indicated for children and very anxious patients. The mucous membrane is anaesthetised before the injection, either by using an anaesthetic spray or gel at the site where the injection is to be made, or by using a cryogenic spray (which causes intense localised cold) to block sensitive receptors in the mucous membrane.

  • Osteo-central anesthesia (Quicksleeper)

It is an interesting alternative. Based on the injection of the anaesthetic into the cancellous bone surrounding the tooth, it uses the blood flow within the Volkman canals to diffuse both mesially and distally. Because of the low diffusion to the mucous membranes, soft tissue anesthesia is very rarely present, which avoids disturbing younger children and removes the risk of self-biting so common with infiltration techniques. In children, the bone cortex is thin and its passage is done by simple pressure and without pain.

With QuickSleeper, all your anaesthesias are quick, painless, without the stress of failure or post-operation after-effects.

Lancy Dental Centre - Anesthesia

Quicksleeper Technology

The anesthetic is:

  1. immediate
  2. unscathed
  3. without numbness
  4. without lingual or palatal recall

3. Conscious sedation techniques

A. MEOPA or nitrous oxide

Nitrous oxide is used in anxious patients for its analgesic, sedative and anesthetic properties.

It is effective on small pains (thanks to it, one does not feel the pain of an injection, or the sensitivities related to a scaling). It allows the patient to relax, and its amnesia effect allows not to remember the intervention.

A one-hour session often seems to last between 20 and 30 minutes.

The advantage of MEOPA is its rapidity of action, it acts after 2 to 3 minutes of inhalation. In the same way, its effect dissipates quickly and the patient can leave alone, driving his vehicle if necessary.

Possible side effects are nausea/vomiting, dizziness, and excitement.

B. Intravenous sedation

Intravenous conscious sedation is a technique consisting of the injection of one or more drugs into the vein to reduce the consciousness of the patient undergoing a dental procedure. The patient remains conscious, responding to stimuli and questions from the dentist.

The advantages of intravenous sedation are its effectiveness (over 99.99% success rate) and safety. The amnesia it provides the patient is real, and the recovery time is shorter than with oral anxiolytics, but the patient must be accompanied.

The disadvantages are the need for an infusion, which may be difficult for some patients to accept, and the need for more monitoring than with other methods.

4. General anaesthesia in dental practice

Dental care for people with disabilities

General anaesthesia is possible in the case of major surgery, a long operation or for disabled patients or those with certain pathologies.

Dentist with general anesthesia

The anaesthesia is performed by a physician-anaesthetist, but the procedure is ambulatory, i.e. it does not require an overnight stay.

This type of anesthesia renders the patient unconscious and insensitive to pain. The procedure can last up to 2 hours for children and 4 hours for adults. A rest period of about 45 minutes follows. The patient must always be accompanied, and remain so throughout the day.

The risks associated with general anaesthesia are nausea, headaches, momentary disorientation, and haematomas at the injection site. Important decisions (contracts to be signed, legal decisions) should be avoided for 24 hours. In rare cases, general anaesthesia can be followed by serious, life-threatening complications. This is why they are carried out under the supervision of a resuscitating anaesthetist, with monitoring of the patient.

fbpx
Telefon

+41 22 959 75 00

Unsere Arbeitszeiten

Mo.-Do. 8-19 Uhr, Fr. 8-18 Uhr, Sa. 8.30-13 Uhr

Zahnärztliche Anästhesie bei Erwachsenen

Zahnärztliche Anästhesie

Zahnschmerzen können manchmal sehr stark sein und für Patienten schwer zu bewältigen. Die Angst vor Schmerzen kann manchmal sogar noch stärker sein, und 54 % der Patienten erleben Gefühle, die von einfacher Befürchtung bis hin zu tiefer Phobie reichen. Heute verfügen wir über ein komplettes Arsenal (zahnärztliche Anästhesie, bewusste Sedierung), das es uns ermöglicht, sowohl in der Prävention als auch in der Behandlung von Schmerzen und Angst zu agieren.

1. Medikamentöse Behandlungen

A. Schmerztabletten

Bei leichten Schmerzen sind einfache Schmerzmittel wie Paracetamol meist ausreichend. Die effektive Dosierung beträgt 1000 mg alle 6 Stunden, wenn keine Kontraindikationen vorliegen.

B. Entzündungshemmende Medikamente

Bei stärkeren Schmerzen oder wenn Paracetamol unwirksam ist, führt die Verschreibung von entzündungshemmenden Medikamenten wie Ibuprofen oder Mefenaminsäure oft zu besseren Ergebnissen als Paracetamol. Sie hilft auch, postoperative Nebenwirkungen (Ödeme oder Trismus) zu reduzieren, wobei diese stark von der Art und Dauer der Operation abhängen.

C. Anxiolytika

Stress und Müdigkeit sind für viele Patienten erschwerende Faktoren. Das Ziel ist es, das physische und psychische Wohlbefinden des Patienten zu erhalten, um die Durchführung der Pflege zu erleichtern.
Das Molekül der Wahl wird Hydroxizin (ATARAX ©) oder ein Benzodiazepin wie Valium © sein. Die Verschreibung von Anxiolytika bei ängstlichen Patienten ermöglicht eine bessere Wirksamkeit von Schmerzmitteln und Entzündungshemmern sowie der Anästhesie, wodurch die postoperativen Auswirkungen reduziert werden können.

Der Nachteil von Anxiolytika ist die Dauer ihrer Wirkung. Sie müssen begleitet werden und es wird dringend davon abgeraten, am Tag der Operation ein Fahrzeug zu führen.

2. Lokalanästhetika

Um Schmerzen während einer Operation zu vermeiden, injiziert der Zahnarzt eine Lösung, die alle Schmerzen stoppt. Auch wenn heute viele Eingriffe dank des Fortschritts der Technik ohne Anästhesie durchgeführt werden können, bevorzugen einige Patienten für ihren Komfort während des Eingriffs eine systematische Anästhesie. Die Techniken unterscheiden sich
je nach behandeltem Zahn und Art des Verfahrens, mit variablen Nebenwirkungen. In jedem Fall sind diese selten und vorübergehend (Hämatom, Taubheitsgefühl der Wange und Lippe für einige Stunden).

Auch die Empfindung der Injektion wird dank der Verwendung von speziellen Geräten minimiert. Insbesondere verwenden wir ein präanästhetisches Gel, um das Zahnfleisch vor der Injektion zu massieren.

Zahnarzt mit lokaler Anästhesie

Ein Lokalanästhetikum stoppt die Erregbarkeit empfindlicher Nervenfasern, und zwar vorübergehend und reversibel. Es erlaubt daher, den Schmerz für eine bestimmte Zeit zu hemmen.

In der verwendeten Formel finden wir das Lokalanästhetikum: Es ist eines der Moleküle, die mit dem Suffix "-caine" enden, wie Lidocain oder Ropivacain, moderner.

Zusätzlich zum Anästhetikum gibt es Adrenalin für seine gefäßverengende Wirkung, die die Blutung reduziert, die Konzentration des Produkts lokal erhöht und seine Ausbreitung auf benachbarte Bereiche verhindert, was eine längere Wirkungszeit ermöglicht.

Zahnchirurgen sind darauf trainiert, bei jeder Art von zahnärztlichem Eingriff genau zu wissen, wo sie stechen müssen, denn es geht um mehr oder weniger lokalisierte Taubheit und um die Betäubung dieses oder jenes Nerventyps.

Methoden und Unterstützung für eine bessere Erfahrung der Intervention

Es wurde an Methoden gearbeitet, um den Patienten sowohl in seiner Angst vor der Injektion als auch in den von ihr verursachten Schmerzen zu begleiten:

  • Voranästhesie oder Oberflächenanästhesie

Sie ist für Kinder und sehr ängstliche Patienten indiziert. Die Schleimhaut wird vor der Injektion betäubt, entweder mit einem Anästhesiespray oder -gel an der Injektionsstelle oder mit einem kryogenen Spray (das eine intensive lokale Kälte verursacht), um empfindliche Rezeptoren in der Schleimhaut zu blockieren.

  • Osteo-Zentralanästhesie (Quicksleeper)

Es ist eine interessante Alternative. Basierend auf der Injektion des Anästhetikums in die den Zahn umgebende Spongiosa nutzt es den Blutfluss innerhalb der Volkman-Kanäle, um sowohl nach mesial als auch nach distal zu diffundieren. Aufgrund der geringen Diffusion zu den Schleimhäuten liegt nur sehr selten eine Weichteilanästhesie vor, wodurch jüngere Kinder nicht gestört werden und die bei Infiltrationstechniken so häufige Gefahr des Selbstbeißens entfällt. Bei Kindern ist die Knochenrinde dünn und die Passage erfolgt durch einfachen Druck und ohne Schmerzen.

Mit QuickSleeper sind alle Ihre Anästhesien schnell und schmerzlos, ohne den Stress des Versagens oder der Nachwirkungen nach der Operation.

Lancy Dental Centre - Anästhesie

Quicksleeper-Technologie

Die Narkose ist:

  1. sofort
  2. unbeschädigt
  3. ohne Taubheit
  4. ohne lingualen oder palatinalen Rückruf

3. Techniken zur Sedierung bei Bewusstsein

A. MEOPA oder Distickstoffoxid

Lachgas wird bei ängstlichen Patienten wegen seiner analgetischen, sedierenden und anästhetischen Eigenschafteneingesetzt.

Es ist wirksam bei kleinen Schmerzen (dank ihm spürt man nicht den Schmerz einer Injektion, oder die Empfindlichkeiten, die mit einer Schuppung verbunden sind). Es erlaubt dem Patienten, sich zu entspannen, und sein Amnesie-Effekt erlaubt, sich nicht an den Eingriff zu erinnern.

Eine einstündige Sitzung scheint oft zwischen 20 und 30 Minuten zu dauern.

Der Vorteil von MEOPA ist seine schnelle Wirkung, es wirkt bereits nach 2 bis 3 Minuten nach der Inhalation. Ebenso lässt die Wirkung schnell nach und der Patient kann in Ruhe gehen und ggf. sein Fahrzeug fahren.

Mögliche Nebenwirkungen sind Übelkeit/Erbrechen, Schwindel und Erregung.

B. Intravenöse Sedierung

Die intravenöse bewusste Sedierung ist eine Technik, die aus der Injektion eines oder mehrerer Medikamente in die Vene besteht, um das Bewusstsein des Patienten, der sich einem zahnärztlichen Eingriff unterzieht, zu reduzieren. Der Patient bleibt bei Bewusstsein und reagiert auf Reize und Fragen des Zahnarztes.

Die Vorteile der intravenösen Sedierung sind ihre Effektivität (über 99,99% Erfolgsrate) und Sicherheit. Die Amnesie, die es dem Patienten verschafft, ist echt, und die Erholungszeit ist kürzer als bei oralen Anxiolytika, aber der Patient muss begleitet werden.

Die Nachteile sind die Notwendigkeit einer Infusion, die für manche Patienten schwer zu akzeptieren sein kann, und die Notwendigkeit einer stärkeren Überwachung als bei anderen Methoden.

4. Allgemeinanästhesie in der Zahnarztpraxis

Zahnpflege für Menschen mit Behinderungen

Eine Vollnarkose ist möglich bei größeren Eingriffen, einer langen Operation oder bei behinderten Patienten bzw. bei Patienten mit bestimmten Krankheitsbildern.

Zahnarzt mit Vollnarkose

Die Anästhesie wird von einem Arzt-Anästhesisten durchgeführt, der Eingriff erfolgt jedoch ambulant, d.h. er erfordert keine Übernachtung.

Diese Art der Anästhesie macht den Patienten bewusstlos und schmerzunempfindlich. Der Eingriff kann bei Kindern bis zu 2 Stunden und bei Erwachsenen bis zu 4 Stunden dauern. Es folgt eine Ruhezeit von ca. 45 Minuten. Der Patient muss immer in Begleitung sein, und zwar den ganzen Tag über.

Die mit einer Vollnarkose verbundenen Risiken sind Übelkeit, Kopfschmerzen, kurzzeitige Desorientierung und Hämatome an der Injektionsstelle. Wichtige Entscheidungen (zu unterzeichnende Verträge, rechtliche Entscheidungen) sollten 24 Stunden lang vermieden werden. In seltenen Fällen kann es nach einer Vollnarkose zu schweren, lebensbedrohlichen Komplikationen kommen. Deshalb werden sie unter Aufsicht eines wiederbelebenden Anästhesisten und unter Überwachung des Patienten durchgeführt.