fbpx
Phone

+41 22 959 75 00

Our schedules

Mon.-Thu. 8am-7pm, Fri. 8am-6pm, Sat. 8.30am-1pm

Lancy Dental Centre - gum care

Periodontology

Gum care

Periodontology is a discipline of dentistry that deals with the care of all the tissues around and supporting the tooth (gum care):

the gum, the bone, the tissue that surrounds the dental root (called "cementum") on which the ligament (called "alveolo-dental") that connects the tooth to the bone is attached.

PERIODONTITY

Periodontitis, commonly known as periodontitis, is characterized by the destruction of the tissues that anchor the teeth, i.e. the jawbone, gums and cementum (the periodontium).

WHAT CAUSES PERIODONTITIS?

The mouth is in permanent contact with the outside environment. A large number of microbes are therefore permanently present in contact with the teeth and gums. This is called dental plaque. Sometimes, the amount of microbes and their virulence are so great that they destroy the tissues that support the teeth. This is the beginning of periodontitis.

As periodontitis progresses, a periodontal pocket forms under the gum and quickly becomes a receptacle for a large amount of plaque, i.e. bacteria that infect the gum. Over time, this plaque mineralizes to form tartar, which is a solid deposit that is very porous and in which other bacteria become lodged. These bacteria, which are aggressive to the periodontium, cannot be dislodged with a simple brushing. This is the beginning of the "vicious circle" of infection of the gums, which gradually aggravates the loosening of the teeth.

GUM CARE: THE MEANS OF ACTION

LOCAL DISINFECTION TREATMENT

It is generally between the teeth that the most virulent bacteria are present. Interdental disinfection must be performed daily in addition to general disinfection of the teeth and gums. Two instruments are at our disposal:

These instruments are the most effective and easiest to use. However, they are relatively thick and therefore will not fit everywhere.

When the brush cannot be inserted into the interdental notch, dental floss should be used.

RESTORING GINGIVAL TIGHTNESS WITH GINGIVAL CURETTAGES

Curettage is the first technique considered for treating periodontal disease. This method is not very aggressive and is generally effective.

CURETTAGE GOAL

Dental curettage is a non-surgical procedure (the gums must not be loosened) that cleans the surface of the tooth roots and the gums in depth. They consist of removing soft (plaque) and hard (tartar) deposits that have accumulated on the surface of the teeth.

The objective is to disinfect the gum and dental tissues and to allow the reduction or even closure of periodontal pockets by re-adhering the gum to the biocompatible tooth surface. However, when the RSD of all the teeth is not sufficient to stabilize the periodontal disease, other therapies, particularly surgical ones (sanitation flaps), can then be considered.

HOW ARE CURETTAGE PROCEDURES PERFORMED?

Under local anaesthesia, the use of ultrasound inserts and manual curettes allows for the precise location and removal of tartar deposits, but also bacterial deposits and bacterial toxins that contribute to the exacerbation of periodontitis from the tooth surface.

The vibrations of the ultrasounds, and the irrigation solutions used (iodine solution and mouthwashes) contribute to the elimination of bacteria, bacterial toxins and residual tartar from dental surfaces and infiltrated gum tissue. The number of sessions varies depending on the patient, the severity of the periodontitis and the number of teeth affected.

Understanding scheme for gum care

 GUM GRAFTS

Overly vigorous brushing, malocclusion, bruxism or sometimes orthodontic treatment can cause gum retraction. At an advanced stage, these can cause pain, aesthetic discomfort (visually long tooth), or even endanger the preservation of the tooth on the jaw. It is then possible to perform a gingival graft, which consists of removing a small amount of gum from the palate under local anesthesia and adding it to the area where it has disappeared. In the area of the palate where the gum has been removed, the gum will grow back on its own within a few weeks. These techniques allow a longer conservation of the teeth and sometimes an improvement of the aesthetic aspect of the gums.

Root-covering-1

Before

Root Covers-2

After

Root cover-4

Before

Root cover-4

After

fbpx
Telefon

+41 22 959 75 00

Unsere Arbeitszeiten

Mo.-Do. 8-19 Uhr, Fr. 8-18 Uhr, Sa. 8.30-13 Uhr

Lancy Dental Centre - Zahnfleischpflege

Parodontologie

Zahnfleischpflege

Die Parodontologie ist eine Disziplin der Zahnmedizin, die sich mit der Pflege aller den Zahn umgebenden und stützenden Gewebe (Zahnfleischpflege) befasst:

das Zahnfleisch, der Knochen, das Gewebe, das die Zahnwurzel (genannt "Zement") umgibt, an dem das Band (genannt "alveolo-dental"), das den Zahn mit dem Knochen verbindet, befestigt ist.

PERIODONTITÄT

Parodontitis, allgemein bekannt als Parodontitis, ist gekennzeichnet durch die Zerstörung der Gewebe, die die Zähne verankern, d.h. Kieferknochen, Zahnfleisch und Zement (der Zahnhalteapparat).

WAS VERURSACHT PARODONTITIS?

Der Mund steht in ständigem Kontakt mit der äußeren Umgebung. Eine große Anzahl von Mikroben ist daher ständig in Kontakt mit den Zähnen und dem Zahnfleisch. Dies wird als Zahnbelag bezeichnet. Manchmal sind die Menge der Mikroben und ihre Virulenz so groß, dass sie eine Zerstörung des Gewebes verursachen, das die Zähne stützt. Dies ist der Beginn einer Parodontitis.

Mit fortschreitender Parodontitis bildet sich unter dem Zahnfleisch eine Parodontaltasche, die schnell zu einem Behältnis für eine große Menge an Plaque, d.h. Bakterien, die das Zahnfleisch infizieren, wird. Mit der Zeit mineralisiert sich diese Plaque zu Zahnstein, einer festen Ablagerung, die sehr porös ist und in der sich andere Bakterien festsetzen. Diese Bakterien, die aggressiv auf den Zahnhalteapparat wirken, können nicht durch einfaches Abbürsten entfernt werden. Dies ist der Beginn des "Teufelskreises" der Zahnfleischentzündung, der die Lockerung der Zähne allmählich verschlimmert.

ZAHNFLEISCHPFLEGE: DIE MITTEL ZUM HANDELN

BEHANDLUNG ZUR LOKALEN DESINFEKTION

In der Regel befinden sich die virulentesten Bakterien zwischen den Zähnen. Zusätzlich zur allgemeinen Desinfektion von Zähnen und Zahnfleisch muss täglich eine Interdentaldesinfektion durchgeführt werden. Zwei Instrumente stehen uns zur Verfügung:

Diese Instrumente sind die wirksamsten und am einfachsten zu benutzen. Sie sind jedoch relativ dick und werden daher nicht überall passen.

Wenn die Bürste nicht in die interdentale Kerbe eingeführt werden kann, wird Zahnseide verwendet.

WIEDERHERSTELLUNG DER ZAHNFLEISCHFESTIGKEIT MIT ZAHNFLEISCHKÜRETTAGEN

Die Kürettage ist die erste Technik, die zur Behandlung von Parodontalerkrankungen in Betracht gezogen wird. Diese Methode ist nicht sehr aggressiv und allgemein wirksam.

ZIEL DER KÜRETTAGEN

Die zahnärztliche Kürettage ist ein nicht-chirurgischer Eingriff (das Zahnfleisch darf nicht gelockert werden), der die Oberfläche der Zahnwurzeln und das Zahnfleisch in der Tiefe reinigt. Sie bestehen in der Entfernung von weichen (Plaque) und harten (Zahnstein) Ablagerungen, die sich auf der Oberfläche der Zähne angesammelt haben.

Ziel ist es, Zahnfleisch und Zahngewebe zu desinfizieren und die Verkleinerung oder sogar den Verschluss von Parodontaltaschen zu ermöglichen, indem das Zahnfleisch wieder mit der biokompatiblen Zahnoberfläche verklebt wird. Wenn jedoch die RSD aller Zähne nicht ausreicht, um die Parodontalerkrankung zu stabilisieren, können andere, insbesondere chirurgische Therapien (Sanitationsklappen) in Betracht gezogen werden.

WIE WERDEN KÜRETTAGEN DURCHGEFÜHRT?

Unter örtlicher Betäubung ermöglicht die Verwendung von Ultraschalleinlagen und manuellen Küretten die präzise Lokalisierung und Entfernung von Zahnsteinablagerungen, aber auch von bakteriellen Ablagerungen und bakteriellen Toxinen, die zur Verschlimmerung der Parodontitis beitragen, von der Zahnoberfläche.

Die Vibrationen des Ultraschalls und die verwendeten Spüllösungen (Jodlösung und Mundspülungen) tragen zur Eliminierung von Bakterien, bakteriellen Toxinen und Zahnsteinresten von den Zahnoberflächen und dem infiltrierten Zahnfleischgewebe bei. Die Anzahl der Sitzungen variiert je nach Patient, dem Schweregrad der Parodontitis und der Anzahl der betroffenen Zähne.

Schema zur Zahnfleischpflege verstehen

 GINGIVATRANSPLANTATIONEN

Zu kräftiges Putzen, Fehlbiss, Bruxismus oder manchmal eine kieferorthopädische Behandlung können zu Zahnfleischrückzügen führen. In einem fortgeschrittenen Stadium können diese Schmerzen und ästhetische Beschwerden (optisch lange Zähne) verursachen oder sogar den Erhalt des Zahnes im Kiefer gefährden. Es ist dann möglich, ein Gingivatransplantat durchzuführen, bei dem unter örtlicher Betäubung eine kleine Menge Zahnfleisch vom Gaumen entfernt und dem Bereich hinzugefügt wird, in dem es verschwunden ist. In dem Bereich des Gaumens, in dem das Zahnfleisch entfernt wurde, wächst das Zahnfleisch in wenigen Wochen von selbst wieder nach. Diese Techniken ermöglichen eine längere Erhaltung der Zähne und manchmal eine Verbesserung des ästhetischen Aspekts des Zahnfleisches.

Wurzeldeckung-1

Vor

Root-Covers-2

Nach

Wurzelabdeckung-4

Vor

Wurzelabdeckung-4

Nach