fbpx
Phone

+41 22 959 75 00

Our schedules

Mon.-Thu. 8am-7pm, Fri. 8am-6pm, Sat. 8.30am-1pm

Adult Dental Anesthesia

Dental anesthesia

Dental pain can sometimes be severe and difficult for patients to manage. The fear of pain can sometimes be even stronger, and 54% of patients experience feelings ranging from simple apprehension to deep phobia. Today we have a complete arsenal (dental anaesthesia, conscious sedation), allowing us to act both in the prevention and treatment of pain and anxiety.

1. Drug treatments

A. Painkillers

For mild pain, simple painkillers such as paracetamol are usually sufficient. The effective dosage is 1000 mg every 6 hours, if there are no contraindications.

B. Anti-inflammatory drugs

For more severe pain, or if paracetamol is ineffective, the prescription of anti-inflammatory drugs such as ibuprofen or mefenamic acid often gives better results than paracetamol. It also helps to reduce post-operative side effects (oedema or trismus), although these depend to a large extent on the type and duration of the operation.

C. Anxiolytics

Stress and fatigue are aggravating factors for many patients. The goal is to obtain the physical and psychological comfort of the patient in order to facilitate the realization of the care.
The molecule of choice will be hydroxizine (ATARAX ©) or a benzodiazepine like Valium ©. The prescription of anxiolytics in anxious patients allows a better efficiency of painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs, as well as of the anaesthesia, which allows to reduce the postoperative effects.

The disadvantage of anxiolytics is the duration of their action. They require to be accompanied and it is strongly advised not to drive a vehicle on the day of the operation.

2. Local anaesthetics

To avoid feeling pain during an operation, the dentist injects a solution that stops all pain. If today many interventions can be done without anaesthesia thanks to the progress of the technique, some patients prefer to have a systematic anaesthesia for their comfort during the intervention. The techniques differ
depending on the tooth treated and the type of procedure, with variable side effects. In any case, these are rare and temporary (hematoma, numbness of the cheek and lip for a few hours).

The sensation of the injection is also minimized thanks to the use of specific equipment. In particular, we use a pre-anesthetic gel to massage the gums prior to the injection.

Dentist with local anesthesia

A local anaesthetic stops the excitability of sensitive nerve fibres, in a temporary and reversible way. It therefore allows the pain to be inhibited for a given time.

In the formula used, we find the local anesthetic: it is one of the molecules ending with the suffix "-caine" like lidocaine or ropivacaine, more modern.

In addition to the anaesthetic, there is adrenaline for its vaso-constrictor effect, which will reduce bleeding, increase the concentration of the product locally and prevent its spread to neighbouring areas, thus allowing a longer time of action.

Dental surgeons are trained to know exactly where to prick for each type of dental procedure, because it is a matter of more or less localized numbness, and of numbing this or that type of nerve.

Methods and support for a better experience of the intervention

Methods have been worked on to accompany the patient both in his anxiety about the injection but also in the pain it may cause:

  • Pre-anaesthesia or surface anaesthesia

It is indicated for children and very anxious patients. The mucous membrane is anaesthetised before the injection, either by using an anaesthetic spray or gel at the site where the injection is to be made, or by using a cryogenic spray (which causes intense localised cold) to block sensitive receptors in the mucous membrane.

  • Osteo-central anesthesia (Quicksleeper)

It is an interesting alternative. Based on the injection of the anaesthetic into the cancellous bone surrounding the tooth, it uses the blood flow within the Volkman canals to diffuse both mesially and distally. Because of the low diffusion to the mucous membranes, soft tissue anesthesia is very rarely present, which avoids disturbing younger children and removes the risk of self-biting so common with infiltration techniques. In children, the bone cortex is thin and its passage is done by simple pressure and without pain.

With QuickSleeper, all your anaesthesias are quick, painless, without the stress of failure or post-operation after-effects.

Lancy Dental Centre - Anesthesia

Quicksleeper Technology

The anesthetic is:

  1. immediate
  2. unscathed
  3. without numbness
  4. without lingual or palatal recall

3. Conscious sedation techniques

A. MEOPA or nitrous oxide

Nitrous oxide is used in anxious patients for its analgesic, sedative and anesthetic properties.

It is effective on small pains (thanks to it, one does not feel the pain of an injection, or the sensitivities related to a scaling). It allows the patient to relax, and its amnesia effect allows not to remember the intervention.

A one-hour session often seems to last between 20 and 30 minutes.

The advantage of MEOPA is its rapidity of action, it acts after 2 to 3 minutes of inhalation. In the same way, its effect dissipates quickly and the patient can leave alone, driving his vehicle if necessary.

Possible side effects are nausea/vomiting, dizziness, and excitement.

B. Intravenous sedation

Intravenous conscious sedation is a technique consisting of the injection of one or more drugs into the vein to reduce the consciousness of the patient undergoing a dental procedure. The patient remains conscious, responding to stimuli and questions from the dentist.

The advantages of intravenous sedation are its effectiveness (over 99.99% success rate) and safety. The amnesia it provides the patient is real, and the recovery time is shorter than with oral anxiolytics, but the patient must be accompanied.

The disadvantages are the need for an infusion, which may be difficult for some patients to accept, and the need for more monitoring than with other methods.

4. General anaesthesia in dental practice

Dental care for people with disabilities

General anaesthesia is possible in the case of major surgery, a long operation or for disabled patients or those with certain pathologies.

Dentist with general anesthesia

The anaesthesia is performed by a physician-anaesthetist, but the procedure is ambulatory, i.e. it does not require an overnight stay.

This type of anesthesia renders the patient unconscious and insensitive to pain. The procedure can last up to 2 hours for children and 4 hours for adults. A rest period of about 45 minutes follows. The patient must always be accompanied, and remain so throughout the day.

The risks associated with general anaesthesia are nausea, headaches, momentary disorientation, and haematomas at the injection site. Important decisions (contracts to be signed, legal decisions) should be avoided for 24 hours. In rare cases, general anaesthesia can be followed by serious, life-threatening complications. This is why they are carried out under the supervision of a resuscitating anaesthetist, with monitoring of the patient.

fbpx
Téléphone

+41 22 959 75 00

Nos horaires

Lun.-Jeu. 8h-19h, Vend. 8h-18h, Sam. 8h30-13h

Anesthésie dentaire pour adultes

Anesthésie dentaire

La douleur dentaire peut parfois être violente et difficile à gérer pour le patient. La peur de la douleur peut parfois être plus forte encore, et 54 % des patients ressentent des sentiments allant de la simple appréhension à la phobie profonde. Nous avons aujourd’hui un arsenal complet (anesthésie dentaire, sédation consciente), permettant à la fois d’agir au niveau de la prévention et du traitement de la douleur comme de l’anxiété.

1. Les traitements par médicaments

A. Les anti-douleurs

Pour les douleurs faibles, les anti-douleurs simples comme le paracétamol sont généralement suffisants. La posologie efficace est de 1000 mg toutes les 6 heures, s’il n’y a pas de contre-indication.

B. Les anti-inflammatoires

Pour les douleurs plus importantes, ou en cas d’inefficacité du paracétamol, la prescription d’anti-inflammatoires comme l’ibuprofène ou l’acide méfénamique donne souvent de meilleurs résultats que le paracétamol. Elle permet aussi de diminuer les effets secondaires post-opératoires (œdème ou trismus), même si ceux-ci dépendent pour beaucoup du type et de la durée de l’intervention.

C. Les anxiolytiques

Le stress et la fatigue engendrée sont chez beaucoup de patients des facteurs  aggravants de la douleur. Le but est d’obtenir le confort physique et psychique du patient afin de faciliter la réalisation des soins.
La molécule de choix sera l’hydroxizine (ATARAX ©) ou une benzodiazépine comme le Valium ©. La prescription d’anxiolytiques chez les patients anxieux permet une meilleure efficacité des antidouleurs et antiinflammatoires, ainsi que de l’anesthésie, ce qui permet de réduire les suites post opératoires.

L’inconvénient des anxiolytiques est la durée de leur action. Ils nécessitent de venir accompagné et il est fortement déconseillé de conduire un véhicule le jour de l’intervention.

2. Les anesthésies locales

Pour éviter de ressentir la douleur lors d’une intervention, le dentiste fait une injection d’une solution permettant de stopper toute sensation de douleur. Si aujourd’hui beaucoup d’interventions peuvent être faites sans anesthésie grâce aux progrès de la technique, certains patients préfèrent pour leur confort lors de l’intervention avoir une anesthésie systématique. Les techniques diffèrent
en fonction de la dent traitée et du type d’intervention, avec des effets secondaires variables. Ceux-ci sont de toute manière rares et passagers (hématome, engourdissement de la joue et de la lèvre pendant quelques heures).

La sensation de l’injection est également minimisée grâce à l’emploi de matériel spécifique. Nous utilisons notamment un gel pré-anesthésiant en massage de la gencive préalablement à l’injection.

Dentiste avec anesthésie locale

Une anesthésie locale stoppe l’excitabilité des fibres nerveuses sensibles, de façon temporaire et réversible. Elle permet donc d’inhiber la douleur, pour un temps donné.

Dans la formule employée, on retrouve le produit anesthésiant local : il s’agit d’une des molécules finissant par le suffixe « -caïne » comme la lidocaïne ou la ropivacaïne, plus moderne.

En plus de l’anesthésiant, on retrouve de l’adrénaline pour son effet vaso-constricteur, qui va permettre de diminuer les saignements, d’augmenter la concentration du produit en local et d’empêcher sa diffusion dans les régions voisines, et ainsi de permettre d’avoir un plus long temps d’action.

Les chirurgiens-dentistes sont formés pour savoir exactement où piquer pour chaque type d’intervention dentaire, parce qu’il s’agit d’endormir plus ou moins localement, et d’endormir tel ou tel type de nerf.

Méthodes et accompagnement pour vivre mieux l’intervention

Des méthodes ont été travaillées pour accompagner le patient à la fois dans son angoisse de l’injection mais aussi dans la douleur qu’elle peut occasionner :

  • La pré-anesthésie ou anesthésie de surface

Elle est indiquée pour les enfants et les patients très anxieux. Il s’agit insensibiliser la muqueuse avant la piqûre, soit en utilisant un spray anesthésique ou un gel à l’endroit où l’injection va être faite, soit grâce à un spray cryogénique (qui provoque un froid intense localisé) pour bloquer les récepteurs sensitifs de la muqueuse.

  • L’anesthésie ostéo-centrale (Quicksleeper)

Elle représente une alternative intéressante. Fondée sur l’injection de l’anesthésique dans l’os spongieux entourant la dent, elle utilise la circulation sanguine au sein des canaux de Volkman pour diffuser aussi bien mésialement que distalement. Du fait de leur faible diffusion vers les muqueuses, il y a très rarement anesthésie des tissus mous, ce qui évite de perturber les plus jeunes enfants et éloigne le risque d’auto-morsure si fréquent avec les techniques par infiltration. Chez les enfants, la corticale osseuse est fine et son passage se fait par simple pression et sans douleur.

Avec QuickSleeper, toutes vos anesthésies sont rapides, indolores, sans stress de l’échec ou des suites post-opératoires.

Centre dentaire Lancy - Anesthésie

Technologie Quicksleeper

L’anesthésie est:

  1. immédiate
  2. sans échec
  3. sans engourdissement
  4. sans rappel lingual ou palatin

3. Les techniques de sédation consciente

A. Le MEOPA ou Protoxyde d’Azote

Le protoxyde d’azote est utilisé chez le patient anxieux pour ses propriétés analgésiques, sédatives et anesthésiques.

Il est efficace sur les petites douleurs (grâce à lui, on ne ressent pas la douleur d’une injection, ou les sensibilités liées à un détartrage). Il permet au patient de se détendre, et son effet amnésiant permet de ne pas se souvenir de l’intervention.

Une séance d’une heure parait souvent durer entre 20 à 30 minutes.

L’avantage du MEOPA est sa rapidité d’action, il agit après 2 à 3 minutes d’inhalation. De la même manière, son effet se dissipe rapidement et le patient peut repartir seul, en conduisant son véhicule si nécessaire.

Les éventuels effets secondaires sont des nausées/vomissements, des vertiges, et un état d’excitation.

B. La sédation par voie intraveineuse

La sédation consciente intraveineuse est une technique consistant en l’injection par voie veineuse d’un ou plusieurs médicaments visant à diminuer la conscience du patient recevant une intervention dentaire. Le patient reste conscient, répond aux stimuli et aux questions du médecin-dentiste.

Les avantages de la sédation par voie intraveineuse sont son efficacité (plus de 99,99 % de réussite) et sa sécurité. L’amnésie qu’elle procure au patient est réelle, et le temps de récupération est plus court qu’avec les anxiolytiques par voie orale, mais le patient doit cependant être accompagné.

Les inconvénients résident dans la nécessité de devoir procéder à une perfusion, ce qui peut être difficilement accepté par certains patients, et une réglementation nécessitant un monitoring plus important qu’avec d’autres méthodes.

4. L’anesthésie générale en cabinet dentaire

Soins dentaires pour personnes handicapées

L’anesthésie générale est possible dans le cas d’une intervention chirurgicale lourde, d’une intervention longue ou pour les patients handicapés ou ayant certaines pathologies.

Dentiste avec anesthésie générale

L’anesthésie est ici réalisée par un médecin-anesthésiste, mais la procédure est ambulatoire, c’est-à-dire qu’elle ne nécessite pas de passer la nuit sur place.

Ce type d’anesthésie rend inconscient et insensible à la douleur. L’intervention peut durer jusqu’à 2 heures chez les enfants, et 4 heures chez les adultes. S’ensuit une période de repos de 45 mn environ. Le patient doit systématiquement être accompagné, et le rester toute la journée.

Les risques liés à l’anesthésie générale, sont des nausées, des maux de tête, des désorientations momentanées, et des hématomes au niveau du lieu d’injection. Il faut éviter pendant 24 heures de prendre des décisions importantes (contrats à signer, décisions juridiques). Dans de rares cas, l’anesthésie générale peut être suivie de complications sérieuses, qui peuvent engager le pronostic vital. C’est pourquoi elles sont réalisées sous la surveillance d’un médecin-anesthésiste réanimateur, avec un monitoring du patient.