fbpx
Phone

+41 22 959 75 00

Our schedules

Mon.-Thu. 8am-7pm, Fri. 8am-6pm, Sat. 8.30am-1pm

Lancy Dental Centre - gum care

Periodontology

Gum care

Periodontology is a discipline of dentistry that deals with the care of all the tissues around and supporting the tooth (gum care):

the gum, the bone, the tissue that surrounds the dental root (called "cementum") on which the ligament (called "alveolo-dental") that connects the tooth to the bone is attached.

PERIODONTITY

Periodontitis, commonly known as periodontitis, is characterized by the destruction of the tissues that anchor the teeth, i.e. the jawbone, gums and cementum (the periodontium).

WHAT CAUSES PERIODONTITIS?

The mouth is in permanent contact with the outside environment. A large number of microbes are therefore permanently present in contact with the teeth and gums. This is called dental plaque. Sometimes, the amount of microbes and their virulence are so great that they destroy the tissues that support the teeth. This is the beginning of periodontitis.

As periodontitis progresses, a periodontal pocket forms under the gum and quickly becomes a receptacle for a large amount of plaque, i.e. bacteria that infect the gum. Over time, this plaque mineralizes to form tartar, which is a solid deposit that is very porous and in which other bacteria become lodged. These bacteria, which are aggressive to the periodontium, cannot be dislodged with a simple brushing. This is the beginning of the "vicious circle" of infection of the gums, which gradually aggravates the loosening of the teeth.

GUM CARE: THE MEANS OF ACTION

LOCAL DISINFECTION TREATMENT

It is generally between the teeth that the most virulent bacteria are present. Interdental disinfection must be performed daily in addition to general disinfection of the teeth and gums. Two instruments are at our disposal:

These instruments are the most effective and easiest to use. However, they are relatively thick and therefore will not fit everywhere.

When the brush cannot be inserted into the interdental notch, dental floss should be used.

RESTORING GINGIVAL TIGHTNESS WITH GINGIVAL CURETTAGES

Curettage is the first technique considered for treating periodontal disease. This method is not very aggressive and is generally effective.

CURETTAGE GOAL

Dental curettage is a non-surgical procedure (the gums must not be loosened) that cleans the surface of the tooth roots and the gums in depth. They consist of removing soft (plaque) and hard (tartar) deposits that have accumulated on the surface of the teeth.

The objective is to disinfect the gum and dental tissues and to allow the reduction or even closure of periodontal pockets by re-adhering the gum to the biocompatible tooth surface. However, when the RSD of all the teeth is not sufficient to stabilize the periodontal disease, other therapies, particularly surgical ones (sanitation flaps), can then be considered.

HOW ARE CURETTAGE PROCEDURES PERFORMED?

Under local anaesthesia, the use of ultrasound inserts and manual curettes allows for the precise location and removal of tartar deposits, but also bacterial deposits and bacterial toxins that contribute to the exacerbation of periodontitis from the tooth surface.

The vibrations of the ultrasounds, and the irrigation solutions used (iodine solution and mouthwashes) contribute to the elimination of bacteria, bacterial toxins and residual tartar from dental surfaces and infiltrated gum tissue. The number of sessions varies depending on the patient, the severity of the periodontitis and the number of teeth affected.

Understanding scheme for gum care

 GUM GRAFTS

Overly vigorous brushing, malocclusion, bruxism or sometimes orthodontic treatment can cause gum retraction. At an advanced stage, these can cause pain, aesthetic discomfort (visually long tooth), or even endanger the preservation of the tooth on the jaw. It is then possible to perform a gingival graft, which consists of removing a small amount of gum from the palate under local anesthesia and adding it to the area where it has disappeared. In the area of the palate where the gum has been removed, the gum will grow back on its own within a few weeks. These techniques allow a longer conservation of the teeth and sometimes an improvement of the aesthetic aspect of the gums.

Root-covering-1

Before

Root Covers-2

After

Root cover-4

Before

Root cover-4

After

Téléphone

+41 22 959 75 00

Nos horaires

Lun.-Jeu. 8h-19h, Vend. 8h-18h

Centre dentaire Lancy - soin des gencives

La parodontologie

Soin des gencives

La parodontologie est une discipline de la Médecine Dentaire qui s’occupe des soins de l’ensemble des tissus qui se trouvent autour de la dent et la soutiennent (soin des gencives) :

la gencive, l’os, le tissu qui enveloppe la racine dentaire (appelé « cément ») sur lequel s’agrège le ligament (dit « alvéolo-dentaire ») qui relie la dent à l’os.

LA PARODONTITE

La parodontite, couramment appelée « déchaussement des dents », est caractérisée par une destruction des tissus d’ancrage des dents, c’est-à-dire l’os de la mâchoire, la gencive et le cément (le parodonte).

QUELLE EST LA CAUSE DE LA PARODONTITE ?

La bouche est en contact permanent avec le milieu extérieur. De très nombreux microbes sont donc en permanence présents au contact des dents et de la gencive. C’est ce que l’on appelle la plaque dentaire. Parfois, la quantité de microbes et leur virulence sont telles qu’elles entraînent une destruction des tissus qui soutiennent les dents. C’est le début de la parodontite.

Lorsque la parodontite progresse, une poche parodontale se forme sous la gencive et devient rapidement le réceptacle d’une grande quantité de plaque dentaire, c’est-à-dire de bactéries qui infectent la gencive. Avec le temps, cette plaque dentaire se minéralise pour former du tartre qui est un dépôt solide très poreux et dans lequel d’autres bactéries viennent se loger. Ces bactéries agressives pour le parodonte sont indélogeables par un simple brossage. C’est le début du « cercle vicieux » de l’infection de la gencive qui aggrave petit à petit le déchaussement des dents.

SOINS DES GENCIVES : LES MOYENS D’ACTION

TRAITEMENT LOCAL DE DESINFECTION

C’est en général entre les dents que les bactéries les plus virulentes sont présentes. Une désinfection interdentaire doit être réalisée tous les jours en plus d’une désinfection générale des dents et des gencives. Deux instruments sont à notre disposition :

Ces instruments sont les plus efficaces et les plus faciles à utiliser. Toutefois ils sont relativement épais et ne passeront donc pas partout.

Lorsque, la brossette ne peut être introduite dans l’échancrure interdentaire, on fera usage du fil dentaire.

RESTAURER L’ETANCHEITE GINGIVALE GRACE AUX CURETAGES GINGIVAUX

Les curetages sont la première technique envisagée pour traiter les maladies parodontales. Cette méthode, peu agressive, est généralement efficace.

OBJECTIF DE DES CURETAGES

Les curetages sont un procédé non chirurgical (il ne faut pas décoller les gencives) permettant d’assainir la surface des racines dentaires et les gencives en profondeur. Ils consistent en l’élimination des dépôts mous (plaque dentaire) et durs (tartre) accumulés sur la surface des dents.

L’objectif est de désinfecter les tissus gingivaux et dentaires et de permettre la réduction voire la fermeture des poches parodontales, par une ré-adhésion de la gencive sur la surface de la dent rendue biocompatible. Toutefois, lorsque le DSR de toutes les dents ne suffit pas à stabiliser la maladie parodontale, d’autres thérapeutiques, notamment chirurgicales (lambeaux d’assainissement), peuvent alors être envisagées.

COMMENT REALISE-T-ON DES CURETAGES ?

Sous anesthésie locale, l’utilisation d’inserts à ultrasons et de curettes manuelles permet de localiser précisément et de détacher de la surface dentaire les dépôts de tartre, mais aussi les dépôts bactériens et les toxines bactériennes qui participent à l’exacerbation de la parodontite.

Les vibrations des ultrasons, et les solutions d’irrigation utilisées ( solution iodée et bains de bouche ) contribuent à l’élimination des bactéries, des toxines bactériennes et du tartre résiduels des surfaces dentaires et des tissus gingivaux infiltrés. Le nombre de séances proposées varie en fonction du patient, de la gravité de la parodontite et du nombre de dents atteintes.

Schéma de compréhension pour les soins des gencives

 LES GREFFES GINGIVALES

Un brossage trop vigoureux, une malocclusion, un bruxisme ou parfois un  raitement d’orthodontie peuvent entraîner des rétractions gingivales. A un stade avancé, celles-ci peuvent entraîner des douleurs, des désagréments esthétiques (dent visuellement longue ), ou même mettre en péril la conservation de la dent sur la mâchoire. Il est alors possible de réaliser une greffe gingivale, qui consiste au prélèvement sous anesthésie locale sur le palais d’une petite quantité de gencive que l’on vient rajouter sur la zone où elle a disparue. Sur la zone du palais où la gencive a été prélevée, la gencive repoussera toute seule en quelques semaines. Ces techniques permettent une plus longue conservation des dents et parfois une amélioration de l’aspect esthétique des gencives.

Recouvrement-de-racines-1

Avant

Recouvrement-de-racines-2

Après

Recouvrement-de-racines-4

Avant

Recouvrement-de-racines-4

Après