fbpx
Phone

+41 22 959 75 00

Our schedules

Mon.-Thu. 8am-7pm, Fri. 8am-6pm, Sat. 8.30am-1pm

Overall functional and aesthetic renovations

Tooth wear & bruxism

Treatment of cases of severe tooth wear due to bruxism, acid attacks or overly vigorous brushing.

Bruxism is an aimless unconscious movement of the braces, either by squeezing or by lateral movements, then called teeth grinding.

What is dental abfraction?

Tooth abfraction is defined as tooth wear caused by a factor outside the mouth. This tooth wear occurs at the neck of the teeth, close to the gum, and eventually forms a concavity inside the tooth. Untreated, tooth abfraction exposes the tooth nerve and subsequently causes infection, abscess and tooth sensitivity.

Factors leading to dental abfraction :

  • Inadequate brushing method
  • Toothbrush with too stiff bristles
  • Abrasive toothpaste (whitening)
  • Bad oral habits (using toothpicks, biting your nails)
  • In denture wearers with retention clasps on the teeth
  • Professional wear in tailors with the sewing needle between the teeth

The simplest solution for correcting tooth abfraction is to cover the wear with an composite filling. It protects the fragile part of the tooth and prevents the nerve of the tooth from being exposed. In rare cases, the nerve of the tooth has already been affected. If this is the case, a root canal treatment will be required before covering the wear with the composite seal.

What is dental attrition?

Tooth attrition is a more pronounced and widespread wear of teeth, affecting both upper and lower teeth. It affects the chewing surface of the teeth (top) and causes a progressive shortening of the teeth.

The consequences of dental attrition:

  • dental sensitivity to cold and air;
  • Unsightly appearance of shortened teeth;
  • dental cracks and fractures;
  • infection and dental abscess caused by nerve exposure;
  • Difficulty chewing more solid foods.

The primary cause of dental attrition is the bruxism (teeth grinding and clenching). The treatment of dental attrition is more complex: it is possible to cover the worn-out area of the tooth with a composite or, better yet, a custom-made ceramic filling. However, since wear is widespread in the mouth, worn teeth cannot be covered without a thorough analysis of the occlusion (i.e. how the teeth come into contact when we close the jaw). Without this analysis, there is a risk of unbalancing the jaw and causing a deformity of the jaw. This is what we call a occlusion balance. In addition, once the teeth have been restored, it is recommended that they be protected against a recurrence of dental attrition by wearing a occlusal plate or gutter.

Before ImageAfter Image
Before ImageAfter Image

Téléphone

+41 22 959 75 00

Nos horaires

Lun.-Jeu. 8h-19h, Vend. 8h-18h

Réhabilitations fonctionnelles et esthétiques globales

Usure des dents & bruxisme

Traitements des cas d’usure importante des dents liée au bruxisme, aux attaques acides ou aux brossages trop vigoureux.

Le bruxisme est un mouvement inconscient sans but précis de l’appareil manducateur, soit par serrement soit par mouvements latéraux, nommé alors grincement de dents.

Qu’est-ce que l’abfraction dentaire ?

L’abfraction dentaire se définit comme l’usure au niveau des dents causée par un facteur extérieur à la bouche. Cette usure dentaire se manifeste au collet des dents, proche de la gencive et forme éventuellement une concavité à l’intérieur de la dent. Non traitée, l’abfraction dentaire expose le nerf de la dent et cause par la suite infection, abcès et sensibilité dentaire.

Facteurs engendrant l’abfraction dentaire :

  • Méthode de brossage inadéquate
  • Brosse-à-dents à poils trop rigides
  • Pâte-à-dents abrasive (blanchissante)
  • Mauvaises habitudes orales (usage de cure-dent, se ronger les ongles)
  • Chez les porteurs de prothèses dentaires avec des crochets de rétention sur les dents
  • Usure professionnelle chez les tailleurs avec l’aiguille à coudre entre les dents

La solution la plus simple pour corriger l’abfraction dentaire est de couvrir l’usure avec un plombage en composite. Il permet de protéger la partie fragile de la dent et d’éviter que le nerf de celle-ci soit exposée. Dans de rares cisconstances, le nerf de la dent a déjà été touchée. Si tel est le cas, un traitement de canal sera nécessaire avant de recouvrir l’usure avec le plombage en composite.

Qu’est-ce que l’attrition dentaire ?

L’attrition dentaire est une usure plus marquée des dents et de manière généralisée affectant autant les dents en haut qu’en bas. Il affecte la surface de mastication des dents (dessus) et provoque un raccourcissement progressif des dents.

Les conséquences de l’attrition dentaire :

  • sensibilité dentaire au froid et à l’air;
  • aspect inesthétique des dents raccourcies;
  • fêlures et fractures dentaires;
  • infection et abcès dentaire engendré par exposition du nerf;
  • difficulté à mastiquer des aliments plus solides.

La cause première de l’attrition dentaire est le bruxisme (grincement-serrement des dents). Le traitement de l’attrition dentaire est plus complexe : il est possible de recouvrir la zone usée de la dent par un plombage en composite ou mieux en céramique, fait sur mesure. Cependant, comme l’usure est généralisée en bouche, on ne peut recouvrir les dents usées sans une analyse approfondie de l’occlusion (c’est-à-dire la manière dont les dents entrent en contact lorsque nous fermons la mâchoire). Sans cette analyse, il y a un risque de déséquilibrer la mâchoire et engendrer une déformation de celle-ci. C’est ce que nous appelons une équilibration de l’occlusion. De plus, une fois les dents restaurées, il est recommandé de les protéger contre une récidive de l’attrition dentaire par le port d’une plaque occlusale ou gouttière.

Before ImageAfter Image
Before ImageAfter Image