fbpx
Phone

+41 22 959 75 00

Our schedules

Mon.-Thu. 8am-7pm, Fri. 8am-6pm, Sat. 8.30am-1pm

Centre dentaire Lancy - Children's anesthesia

Painless and fearless care

Anesthesia for children

Local anaesthesia in children and adolescents is a problem on several levels.

  • How to make the child accept it?
  • How do you do it without pain?
  • How to be effective?
  • What are the risks in children?

How do we get her to accept it?

The child's approach remains complex, either because he is afraid of the unknown, or because he is afraid of the needle, of the sting. There are different approaches to the act of anesthesia, depending on the psychology of the practitioner and the patient.

Some simple and effective rules are applied in our Centre to put the child in the best conditions:

- We do not use the term "painful". Each word carries its literal meaning and what each person puts into it, coming from his or her personal history. The words "wrong", "prick", "needle", "prick", "syringe" should be avoided.

- We don't use negation. In psychology, there is no such thing as negation. If we say to a person, "Don't think about the needle," that person will instantly have a needle image in their mind. The same principle applies with our patients. The phrase "Don't be afraid, it won't hurt" is actually translated as "You are right to be afraid, it will hurt" and has the effect of associating fear and pain with the act performed.

- We use vocabulary appropriate to the age of the patient because children are not miniature adults. You don't talk to a four-year-old the same way you talk to a teenager. During the pre-operative visit, we must tell the child what is going to happen in age-appropriate language so that he or she can calmly move on to the next step.

Each practitioner strives to find the words that correspond to the personality of each child using positive or at least neutral terms to convey his or her message.

How do you do it without hurting?

A relaxed patient and operator are the first guarantee of freedom from pain. Nevertheless, two steps are potentially painful: the passage of the needle through the mucosa and the first stages of intra-tissue injection.

To avoid this, the Centre Dentaire Champel has :

  • Topical anesthesia

It helps to numb the gums so that the penetration of the needle is not felt.

The longer the topical anesthetic (surface anesthetic) is applied, the deeper and longer it acts. Lidocaine alone (Xylocontact®, Xylonor®...) or combined with prilocaine (EMLA®) is the most widespread molecule.

  • Osteocentral anaesthesia (Quicksleeper)

It represents an interesting alternative. Based on the injection of the anesthetic into the cancellous bone surrounding the tooth, they use the blood circulation within the Volkman channels to diffuse both mesially and distally. Due to their low diffusion to the mucous membranes, soft tissue anaesthesia is very rarely used, which avoids disturbing younger children and removes the risk of self-biting that is so common with infiltration techniques. In children, the bony cortical bone is thin and its passage is done by simple pressure and without pain.

With QuickSleeper, all your anaesthesia is fast, painless, without the stress of failure or post-operative consequences.

What are the risks after the anesthetic?

Soft tissue anaesthesia during infiltration anaesthesia is often poorly experienced by the youngest of our patients. Independently of the inconvenience linked to the loss of the usual sensations, a biting reflex appears in some people, which can lead to injuries that can sometimes be very serious and take time to heal. This phenomenon occurs mainly during anaesthesia in the mandible. It is necessary to systematically warn those around you and the child of this risk of self-biting.

QuickSleeper

fbpx
Téléphone

+41 22 959 75 00

Nos horaires

Lun.-Jeu. 8h-19h, Vend. 8h-18h

Centre dentaire Lancy - Anesthésie enfants

Des soins sans douleur et sans crainte

Anesthésie enfants

L’anesthésie locale chez l’enfant et l’adolescent est un problème à plusieurs niveaux.

  • Comment la faire accepter par l’enfant ?
  • Comment la faire sans douleur?
  • Comment être efficace ?
  • Quels sont les risques chez l’enfant ?

Comment la faire accepter ?

L’approche de l’enfant reste complexe, soit parce qu’il a peur de l’inconnu, soit parce qu’il a peur de l’aiguille, de la piqûre. Il existe différentes façons d’aborder l’acte de l’anesthésie, qui dépendent de la psychologie du praticien et du patient. 

Quelques règles simples et efficaces sont appliquées dans notre Centre pour mettre l’enfant dans les meilleures conditions :

– Nous n’employons pas le terme « douloureux ». Chaque mot est porteur de son sens littéral et de ce que chaque personne y met, issu de son histoire personnelle. Les mots « mal », « piqûre », « aiguille », « piquer », « seringue » sont à éviter.

– Nous n’utilisons pas de négation. En psychologie, la négation n’existe pas. Si nous disons à une personne « Ne pensez pas à l’aiguille », cette personne va instantanément avoir à son esprit une image d’aiguille. Le même principe s’applique avec nos patients. La phrase « N’aie pas peur, ça ne fera pas mal » est en fait traduite en « Tu as raison d’avoir peur, ça va faire mal » et a pour effet d’associer la peur et la douleur à l’acte effectué.

– Nous utilisons un vocabulaire adéquat à l’âge du patient car les enfants ne sont pas des adultes en miniature. On ne parle pas de la même façon à un petit de quatre ans qu’à un adolescent. Lors de la visite préopératoire, nous devons dire à l’enfant ce qui va se passer dans un langage approprié à son âge pour qu’il aborde sereinement la suite.

Chaque praticien s’emploie à trouver les mots qui correspondent à la personnalité de chaque enfant en utilisant des termes positifs ou au moins neutres pour véhiculer son message.

Comment la faire sans faire mal ?

Un patient et un opérateur détendus sont le premier gage d’absence de douleur. Néanmoins, deux étapes sont potentiellement douloureuses : le passage de l’aiguille à travers la muqueuse et les premiers temps de l’injection intra-tissulaire. 

Pour éviter cela, le Centre Dentaire Champel dispose de :

  • L’anesthésie topique

Elle permet d’insensibiliser la gencive afin de ne pas sentir la pénétration de l’aiguille

Plus l’anesthésique topique (anesthésie de surface) est appliqué longtemps et plus il agit profondément et longtemps. La lidocaïne seule (Xylocontact®, Xylonor®…) ou associée à de la prilocaïne (EMLA®) est la molécule la plus répandue.

  • L’anesthésie ostéocentrale (Quicksleeper)

Elle représente une alternative intéressante. Fondées sur l’injection de l’anesthésique dans l’os spongieux entourant la dent, elles utilisent la circulation sanguine au sein des canaux de Volkman pour diffuser aussi bien mésialement que distalement. Du fait de leur faible diffusion vers les muqueuses, il y a très rarement anesthésie des tissus mous, ce qui évite de perturber les plus jeunes enfants et éloigne le risque d’auto-morsure si fréquent avec les techniques par infiltration. Chez les enfants, la corticale osseuse est fine et son passage se fait par simple pression et sans douleur.

Avec QuickSleeper, toutes vos anesthésies sont rapides, indolores, sans stress de l’échec ou des suites post-opératoires. 

Quel risque après l’anesthésie ?

L’insensibilisation des tissus mous lors des anesthésies par infiltration est souvent mal vécue par les plus jeunes de nos patients. Indépendamment du désagrément lié à la perte des sensations habituelles, un réflexe de mordillement apparaît chez certains pouvant amener à des blessures parfois très importantes et mettant du temps à cicatriser. Ce phénomène apparaît essentiellement lors d’anesthésies effectuées à la mandibule. Il est nécessaire de prévenir systématiquement l’entourage et l’enfant de ce risque d’auto morsure.

QuickSleeper